Astronomical Society of India

The Astronomical Society of India was established in 1972 and has grown to become the prime association of professional astronomers in India. The society has close to 1000 members. The objectives of the society are the promotion of Astronomy and related branches of science in India. The society organises scientific meetings, publishes a quarterly bulletin and supports the popularisation of Astronomy and other similar activities.

Latest News

  • Justice Oak Best Thesis Award for 2015 will be awarded to Dr. Rupal Basak during 34th Annual Meeting of Astronomical Society of India, Kashmir University, Srinagar . Rupal has completed his PhD studies from Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai in the year 2014. He is presently working in Nicolaus Copernicus Astronomical Center, Warsaw.
    (Posted on 28th April 2016)
  • The following members are elected as the members of the Executive Council (EC) of the Astronomical Society of India for the Triennium 2016-2019
    President- Prof. S. K. Pandey, Ravishankar Shukla University
    Vice-President- Dr. S. Seetha, ISRO
    Immediate Past-President- Ajit Kembhavi, IUCAA
    Secretary- Prof. Dipankar Banerjee, IIA
    Treasurer- Prof. K. S. Dwarakanath, RRI
    Councillor- Prof. Gulab Chand Dewangan, IUCAA
    Councillor- Prof. Divya Oberoi, NCRA
    Councillor- Dr. Santosh Vadawale, PRL
    Councillor- Prof. Anandmayee Tej, IIST

    The New EC will take charge after the General body meeting to be held in Srinagar during ASI 2016.
    (Posted on 28th April 2016)
  • The abstract submission is closed now for the 34th Meeting of the Astronomical Society of India
    (Posted on 8th Jan 2016)
  • The Vainu Bappu Memorial Gold Medal VB 2014 will be awarded to Dr. Nikku Madhusudan during forthcoming ASI 2016 meeting at Srinagar, Kashmir to be held during 10-13 May, 2016
    (Posted on 26th Nov 2015)
  • Next Annual ASI Meeting
    The next annual meeting of the Astronomical Society of India will take place at Srinagar between May 10 and 13, 2016, to be hosted by the Kashmir University. In addition to the regular parallel sessions on different categories, for which abstracts will be solicited, there will also be plenary sessions and a few special sessions.

    You can find more details on Website :

    (Posted on 20th November 2015)

Archived News

Latest News