The Astronomical Society of India was established in 1972 and has grown to become the prime association of professional astronomers in India. The society has close to 1000 members. The objectives of the society are the promotion of Astronomy and related branches of science in India. The society organizes scientific meetings and supports the popularization of Astronomy and other similar activities.

Latest Updates

Awards during ASI 2020 Meeting
The following participants were awarded during the ASI 2020 meeting:

ASI Zubin Kembhavi Award for 2019 for “Observational and Instrumentation work in Astronomy and allied fields” was awarded to “Team GMRT”. Prof. Yashwant Gupta received the award on behalf of the team during the meeting.

ASI Laxminarayana & Nagalaxmi Modali Award for 2019 was awarded to Dr. Abhishek Kumar Srivastava (Indian Institute of Technology, BHU).

The Justice Oak Best Thesis Presentation for the year 2019 was awarded to Dr. Saurabh Singh (McGill University, Canada).

K. D. Abhyankar Best Thesis Presentation for 2020 was jointly awarded to Dr. Avyarthana Ghosh (IUCAA Pune) and Dr. Sudip Mandal (Max Planck Institue for Solar System)

Best Poster Awards
Ms. Shilpi Bhunia (IISER Pune) in Sun and the Solar System
Mr. Akash Garg (Jamia Millia Islamia) in Stars, ISM and Galaxy
Ms. Prerana Biswas (IISc Bangalore) in Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr. Sajal Gupta (IISER Kolkata) in General Relativity and Cosmology
Mr. Prasanna Deshmukh (IIA, Bangalore) in Instrumentation and Techniques

Best Poster Award from Indian Academy of Sciences was awarded to Mr. Devojyoti Kansabanik (NCRA, Pune) for the discipline Stars, ISM and the Galaxy and Mr. Satabdwa Majumdar(IIA, Bangalore) for the discipline Sun and the Solar System.

(Posted on 26th February 2020)